LIBRARY HOURS: Monday, Wednesday and Friday: 9:30am-5:30pm,  Tuesday and Thursday: 9:30am-9pm,
Saturday: 9:30am-4pm, Sunday: 12pm-5pm

(Pick "Library" from the list of categories)

Books & Awards Winners

ala childrens notable seal

The ALSC Children’s Notable List

Each year the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) identifies the best of the best in children’s books, recordings, and videos. Use the links below or on the menu at the left to access current and past children’s notable lists, learn about the submission process, and access the current selection committee rosters.


batchelder seal


The Batchelder Award

The Batchelder Award is given to the most outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States.

belpre medal


The Belpre Medal

The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth. It is co-sponsored by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), and REFORMA, the National Association to Promote Library and Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish-Speaking, an ALA affiliate. 

carnegie medal


The Carnegie Medal

The Andrew Carnegie Medal honors the most outstanding video productions for children released during the previous year.


caldecot medalThe Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually
by the American Library Association to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for


geisel medalThe Geisel Award

The Geisel Award, named after Dr. Seuss, is given annually by the American Library Association to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.


newbery medalThe Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal was named for British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually
by the American Library Association to the author of the most distinguished contribution to
American literature for children.


nutmeg award logoThe Nutmeg Award

The Nutmeg Book Award encourages children in grades 2-12 to read quality literature and to
choose their favorite from a list of ten nominated titles. The children of Connecticut vote during
the month of April for their favorite Nutmeg nominated book and the winner is announced in May


odyssey award

The Odyssey Award

This annual award is given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.


sibert medalThe Sibert Medal

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year. The award is named in honor of Robert F. Sibert, the long-time President of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. of Jacksonville, Illinois. ALSC administers the award.


wilder medal

The Legacy Medal

The Legacy Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.