Book Clubs

Top of Pag

Fiction Book Club

Nonfiction Book Club

Mystery Book Club

 

Fiction Book Club

Meets every fourth Tuesday of the month  at 6:30pm in the Brown Room.

* Indicates book club will meet on the 3rd Tuesday of the month
moor's account
Tuesday, January 24, 2017
The Moor’s Account by Laila Lalami

mrs engles
Tuesday, February 28
Mrs. Engels by Gavin McCrea

sympathiser
Tuesday, March 28
The Sympathizer by Thanh Nguyen

my-brilliant-friend
Tuesday, April 25
My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante

the-last-painting-of-sara-de-vos
Tuesday, May 23
The Last Painting of Sara De Vos by Dominic Smith

the circle
Tuesday, June 27
The Circle by Dave Eggers

larose
Tuesday, July 25
LaRose by Louise Erdrich

girl-at-war
Tuesday, August 22
Girl at War by Sara Novic

homegoing
Tuesday, September 26
Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

an-unnecessary-woman
Tuesday, October 24
An Unnecessary Woman by Rabih Alameddine

imagine-me-gone
Tuesday, November 28
Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett

our-souls-at-night
*Tuesday, December 19
Our Souls at Night by Kent Haruf

underground-railroad
Tuesday, January 23, 2018
The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

the-vegetarian
Tuesday, February 27
The Vegetarian by Han Kang


Nonfiction Book Club 

Meets every 2nd Wednesday of the month at 10am in the Brown Room.

Top of Page

Hillbilly Elegy
Wednesday, August 9, 2017
Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis by J.D. Vance
 The Brothers Kinzer
Wednesday, September 13, 2017
The Brothers: John Foster Dulles, Allen Dulles, and Their Secret World War by Stephen Kinzer
I contain multitudes
Wednesday, October 11, 2017
I Contain Multitudes: The Microbes Within Us and a Grander View of Life by Ed Yong

grunt mary roach
Wednesday, November 8, 2017
Grunt: The Curious Science of Humans at War by Mary Roach

between you and me
Wednesday, December 13, 2017
Between You & Me: Confessions of a Comma Queen by Mary Norris
secondhand time
Wednesday, January 10, 2018
Secondhand Time: The Last of the Soviets by Svetlana Alexivich
hidden figures
Wednesday, February 14, 2018
Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race by Margot Lee Shetterly
rage for fame
Wednesday, March 14, 2018
Rage for Fame: The Ascent of Clare Booth Luce by Sylvia Jukes Morris, Chapters 1-20

rage for fame
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
Rage for Fame: The Ascent of Clare Booth Luce by Sylvia Jukes Morris, Chapters 21-38 & Appenxix

hidden life of trees
Wednesday, May 9, 2018
The Hidden Life of Trees: What They Feel, How They Communicate–Discoveries from a Secret World by Peter Wohleben
this close to happy
Wednesday, June 13, 2018
This Close to Happy: A Reckoning with Depression by Daphne Merkin
white trash nancy isenberg
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
White Trash: The 400-Year Untold History of Class in America by Nancy Isenberg
 weapons math destruction
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Weapons of Math Destruction: How Big Data Increases Inequality and Threatens Democracy by Cathy O’Neil

 

Mystery Book Club

Meets every second Monday of the month at 3pm in the Brown Meeting Room starting January 2016

Top of Page

distant-echo
Monday, May 8
The Distant Echo by Val McDermid

crocodile-on-the-sandbank
Monday, June 12
Crocodile on the Sandbank by Elizabeth Peters


black diamond
Monday, July 10
Black Diamond by Martin Walker

the hidden child
Monday, August 14
The Hidden Child by Camilla Lackberg

restless in the grave
Monday, September 11
Restless in the Grave by Dana Stabenow                                        
a carrion death
Monday, October 16
A Carrion Death by Michael Stanley

murphy's law
Monday, November 13
Murphy’s Law by Rhys Bowen 

red bones
Monday, December 11
Red Bones by Ann Cleeves